Click Question to reveal Answer.
To determine the amount due to the Tulsa County Treasurer for a mortgage, use our mortgage tax calculator.
To determine the amount due to the Tulsa County Treasurer for a mortgage modified, amended or extended for the first time, use our mortgage tax calculator for first modifications.
For assistance in calculating the amount due to the Tulsa County Treasurer on an instrument modified, amended or extended more than once, use our multiple modification calculation request.
Before filing a mortgage in the Tulsa County Clerk's office, the treasurer must collect mortgage tax and place a certification label on the mortgage showing the tax collection information. The amount and length of the mortgage determine the mortgage tax due. For assistance in calculating mortgage tax, click on the link below.
In addition to mortgage tax, there is also a $5.00 certification fee due to the treasurer. Checks written for mortgage tax and certification fees must be made payable to Tulsa County Treasurer. You can write one check to pay both the mortgage tax and certification fee. Checks received with other payee names are not accepted.
Mortgage affidavits are required when trying to file instruments under the following circumstances:
- Modification, amendment or extension of mortgage.
- Paying less than the full amount of mortgage tax due based on the information contained in the instrument. The affidavit must contain a detailed explanation of why you are trying to pay mortgage tax on a lesser amount than the amount stated in the instrument.
- ***Split county/split state mortgage OR one loan split between multiple properties. The affidavit must clearly state the amount of the mortgage applicable to Tulsa County OR to each Tulsa County property and the amount of mortgage tax due to Tulsa County for each mortgage.
***To simplify the process, please use the mortgage affidavit provided in the link below and complete the "If this mortgage is split between counties, states or multiple properties, state the amount of the mortgage applicable to this property/Tulsa County here" section of the affidavit.
If applicable, the affidavit must include information for any prior mortgage tax payments. That information includes receipt number, date paid, and amount paid. The affidavit must be notarized and include the notary seal.
According to Oklahoma statutes, no one is exempt from mortgage tax. However, federal statues override Oklahoma statues. Based on federal statues, the following mortgagees (lenders) are not required to pay mortgage tax. They still however must pay the $5.00 certification fee.
Bankruptcy Reorganization (if by court order)
Bureau of Indian Affairs
All Oklahoma Cities
Corporations wholly owned by the Federal Govt
Export Import Bank
Farm Credit Services of Eastern Oklahoma
Farm Service Agency
Federal Stock Land Bank
Federal National Mortgage Association
Federal Credit Unions
Federal Land Bank
Federal Reserve Bank
Federal Farm Bank
All Federal Agencies
Home Owners Loan Corporation
Housing Authority - City of Tulsa
Indian Credit Association (any county)
Oklahoma Water Resources Board
Oklahoma Industrial Finance Authority
Reconstruction Finance Corporation
Resolution Trust Corporation
Rural Electric Co-ops
Secretary of Housing & Urban Development (HUD)
Small Business Administration
The Area Councils for Community Action of Tulsa Development Authority
The following rates apply to each $100.00 or fraction thereof of the mortgage amount:
If the term of the mortgage is 5 years or more - .10 cents
If the term of the mortgage is 4 years and less than 5 years - .08 cents
If the term of the mortgage is 3 years and less than 4 years - .06 cents
If the term of the mortgage is 2 years and less than 3 years - .04 cents
If the term of the mortgage is less than 2 years - .02 cents
If the amount of the mortgage is less than $100.00 - .10 cents
Checks should be made payable to Tulsa County Treasurer. Checks enclosed for filing fees should be made payable to Tulsa County Clerk.
No. You can write one check to cover both the mortgage tax and the $5.00 certification fee. Make sure the check is payable to Tulsa County Treasurer.
However, you must write a separate check to the Tulsa County Clerk for filing fees.